A request for more communication

First of all I want to thank the Bear team for an amazing app - I use it as my primary note and idea capture app, which means I use it for most of my working day. I love the current version of the app and Panda already looks fantastic - particularly native gfm Markdown & tables. I look forward to using those features and web support in the app when they’re ready.

This post is a plea for more communication. I’m not looking for delivery dates - I’ve worked in software for many years and know that providing dates is hard and troublesome for many reasons. As a product manager I know how important expectation management & communication is and I think to be honest you could do better.

With the Panda beta you’ve taken a big step in sharing future progress however there doesn’t appear to have been much change in the last few weeks. I’d suggest that with communications little and often goes a long way - perhaps you could share a weekly or fortnightly post with an idea of what you’ve been working on with respect to the beta?

Also, perhaps you could establish a cadence for new versions of the app so you can continue to get fresh feedback - perhaps aim for a new version of the beta every month?

I’ll leave you with an article from Seth Godin which inspired me to reach out - https://seths.blog/2020/05/craftspeople-and-time/. I don’t agree with all of it (e.g. “Tell us when you’re going to finish”) but I think a lot of it may be relevant - particularly “We’re buying the process from you, not just what you’re making”.

Thank you again for the app and for listening …

5 Likes

:clap: :clap: I support this comment to 100%.

Best regards

Thank you for your kind words about Bear/Panda :slight_smile:

I agree that we could do a better job of communicating our progress on Panda.