Consider Releasing Bear 2.0 in December

Hi Bear team,

Love your app and service. I use it every single day and am a long time subscriber. I work in tech as a product leader, and I’d like to plant a seed in your mind that y’all should aim for the first version of Bear 2 released in December.

I’ve read the following posts — Panda development has been happening since October 2020 with a LOT of new features and scope planned. Your most avid users (the ones who actually post on your forum) are starting to churn on reddit because they’re frustrated with the lack of updates. I’m specifically looking for the new tables feature to be added and then Bear would be perfect for me.

https://www.reddit.com/r/bearapp/comments/s78la6/i_wish_devs_were_open_about_what_is_delaying_the/

I understand these migrations can take quite a long time. But there is real time cost to not shipping. To my understanding, there’s been 2+ years of development work that has not reached any of your subscribers. Imagine if you could ship a much more paired down version of the new Bear, but you get it in customer’s hands in 6 months instead of 2 years. That means those customers are happy for 1.5 years longer, even if there are fewer features initially.

Bear 2.0 for your most avid users for a Christmas release would be a huge milestone and would make a huge difference for your customers and business! You could even make it an opt-in beta for your most avid users to reduce risk and pilot on an actual day to day basis (instead of just a trial without their actual real notes). You don’t have to share an ETA, but please consider it!.

Eric

12 Likes

That oughta do it, Eric!

1 Like

I am anxiously waiting for Bear2 as well don’t get wrong (Hebrew support in my case), but unfortunately, 9 women can’t bear a baby in 1 month (more engineering quotes from the same book - The Mythical Man-Month)