Leaving Bear for Good

Leaving Bear for Good.

For the past 2 years, I’ve been a dedicated bear user and a pro subscriber.

Recently, when the Bear Beta was released, I was only too happy to jump aboard and help contribute in my little way.

But as we draw nearer to the final release, I have sadly concluded Bear app might not be for me any longer.

The reason is a very small, but important one: the iOS experience has been extremely degraded, and the simplicity and quirkiness that endeared me to Bear app in the first place, seems to have been traded for unneeded clutter and changes.

But as a developer myself, I understand all too well the pressure to evolve a product especially with user pressure. But I also believe in the ethos of “if it ain’t broken, don’t try to fix it”.

That said, my major gripes (in order of priority, specifically for iOS) since migrating to Bear 2 beta have been:

i. the dramatic layout change with page margins. Specifically the tight, edge-to-edge margins that makes writing less pleasant and visually unappealing.

Reading notes on Bear 1 on iOS was a joy because of the wide margins that emphasized a neat, vertical flow of text, as opposed to Bear 2’s extremely wide, edge-to-edge reading (and writing) experience.

ii. A poor ‘show-markdown’ implementation. I respect the decision to cater to both camps on the markdown display tussle. However, I believe the option to show markdown should be as close to the original experience of showing markdown as possible.

Specifically with page header/title elements. In Bear 1, you could see the specific header weight (H1, H2, H3 etc), neatly presented in the gutter.

iii. Fixed top bar that contains page title and bogus options when you scroll.