Tabs like Web Browsers

I have been using Craft for the last 2 years, but have come back with Bear 2. I realized today, that I am really missing the ability to have more than one note open at a time.

Would it be possible to add tabs to Bear for macOS and iPadOS? This would greatly improve productivity by increasing the speed at which I can complete some tasks in Bear with this option. Or, be able to have more than one instance of Bear open so that I can have the windows side by side. Thoughts?

4 Likes

It has (always?) been possible to have more than one window of Bear opened. I think if you right click on a note in the note list, you should see an option to open that note in a new window. But only one window is allowed to have side bars (tag list & note list panes) - is this what you mean when talking about multiple instances of Bear?

Regardless, I like having tabs implemented as it allows me to focus on the task at hand but not lost in multiple Bear windows, when I need to constantly reference a few notes when working.

Tabs are superior to the multi-window layout, imho.

5 Likes

Thank you, @pol2ctd - youā€™re right about new note windows on Mac. However, I would prefer the option of tabs. Additionally, there is no way, that Iā€™ve found, to do this on iPadOS. I use the iPad frequently with a keyboard, and adding tab functionality would greater improve workflow.

1 Like

iPad has already support for Split view that works great with Bear,

iPad Pro (and maybe iPad Air?) also supports Stage Manager where you can have multiple instances of Bear open at the same time, either side by side, or minimized on the left side ready to cycle between them:

1 Like

Thank you @roar I guess my problem then on the iPad, is that I donā€™t know how to invoke a 2nd window to do split screen. Split screen is good (and I would use it), but it still does not replace the value of tabsā€¦

1 Like